top of page

The Bio-Psycho-Social-Spiritual Assessment in Social Work Practice


If you are like me, even as an advanced social work practitioner, I sometimes forget to make sure that I begin my work with a client by completing a thorough assessment that includes a spiritual component. Sometimes I don't know how to address spirituality, nor what to do with my client's answers. I certainly don't want to offend. And what is the difference between religion and spirituality anyway? Even though I am Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), as some of you may be, I have never taken a formal course, elective course, or even a seminar on the topic. What are your experiences in facilitating an initial assessment with clients that have a spiritual component? Have you taken any courses or seminars on spiritual assessments? If you took such a course, was a spiritual assessment with a lesbian or gay client addressed?


bottom of page